Back to Reality

After a LONG evening of traveling, the legal ballerina and her respective clan is finally back home, and also (unfortunately), back to reality.  I woke up and went to the grocery store.  We were out of everything and I will be damned if I was going to feed my children any more fast food this week.  Their DNA is practically made out of sugar, french fries and ice cream by this point.  On the ride over to the store I checked my messages.  11 missed calls. Not too shabby.  Luckily for me I have a “Gi-Normica”, paralegal extraordinaire, and also a legal clerk (who was my former assistant and recently took the bar exam) who managed my practice while I was away.  Shout out to Gi-Normica! WHOOT WHOOT!

I also (reluctantly) hopped on the scale this morning, and despite all of the walking I did, I gained 2 pounds since I left.  UG.  I know what you are thinking, “You are complaining about gaining 2 pounds?  Really?  Get your head out of your ass LB.”  Well, you may be singing a different tune if you had to wear spandex in front of teenagers who don’t even know what cellulite is let alone have any.  Plus, for those who really know me, know that I suffered from an eating disorder that debilitated me for years and has been lingering in the background ever since.  Don’t worry! I have it under control, but once you have an eating disorder you always have it.  You never lose that sence of betrayal with food and the feeling associated with weight and image.  The Disorder is always waiting for you to slip back into your compulsive ways.  So, in order to keep my thoughts in check, I monitor my weight in a healthy way.  I eat, but I am always on a “diet.”  When I was on vacation, I didn’t really think about it too much.  I had my break and now it’s back to “work”, so to speak.

First thing I ate was lunch (I slept in this morning – I never eat breakfast on the weekends and I am treating today like a Sunday.)  Lunch consisted of my husband’s super-duper-mega-awesome protein shake.  I love making my own protein shakes and my husband has practically perfected the art.  These shakes are hearty and acts as the perfect meal substitute.  I try to eat one a day and they seem to help me keep my weight in check.  My current favorite is a Peanut Butter Banana Smoothie.  Here is the recipe, for those who are so inclined:

(1) Frozen banana (I keep them in the freezer at all times); (1) Scoop of protein powder (vanilla or chocolate will do); (1) Tablespoon of honey (if you don’t like honey or don’t have any, just leave it out); (1) Packet of sugar substitute; (1) Tablespoon of natural peanut butter; A handful of almonds (they can be raw, salted or even cinnamon will do); 1/4 cup of instant oatmeal; and (2) cups of skim milk.  Throw that concoction in a blender until smooth and BAM.  Deliciousness awaits your trembling pallet.

For dinner, I made pot roast. I normally don’t like to consume large hunks of beef that isn’t ground and not stuck inside a taco or made into a patty, but today was an exception. The weather is cooling down and the leaves are starting to turn.  Fall is here in Ohio and I love it!  Who doesn’t like a slow cooked roast on a cool, crisp autumn evening?!  Plus, roasts can be pretty healthy, if you make it right.  I don’t know how this dinner will turn out, but I am usually happy with all of the recipes I get from allrecipies.com.

Tomorrow – ballet class!  I am so excited to get back to practicing.  I am hopeful that the brief time away from stretching and practicing will help my body continue to get strong and grow as a dancer.  I will let you know how it goes.  Tonight, I am practicing and stretching at home.  I have all evening to do this, so I am going to take my time.

Ahhhh – home.  How I missed thee.  🙂

Leave a comment